Results

The Industry 4.0 vision becoming reality

Fraunhofer IML is currently involved in a number of projects to develop Industry 4.0 solutions. To bring us step-by-step closer to the vision of universally integrated networks we are exploring cyber-physical systems, decentralized and autonomously organised processes, technologies for the Internet of Things and future-oriented IT solutions. These projects illustrate the increasing relevance of digitalization in logistics as Industry 4.0 takes shape. Just take a look at what is already possible nowadays!

Results#

inBin – the intelligent container

The first truly intelligent container communicates with humans and machines, makes its own decisions, monitors its environmental conditions and guides logistics processes. The separation of goods information from real goods has been lifted – and the Internet of Things is becoming reality

RackRacer - an automatic shuttle warehouse without lift

The new climbing shuttle autonomously moves up and down – in effect diagonally – across the rack without the need for a lift or any additional rails. It is equipped with two swivel-mounted crawler elements that support themselves at individual points on the rack. This enables the shuttles to store or retrieve items at any position in the rack entirely autonomously.

Hub2Move – the hub of the future

Hub2Move, a project launched by the EffizienzCluster LogistikRuhr, is based on the idea of a portable warehouse. The hub of the future – a distribution centre that can be relocated – should be adaptable to changing needs. It should be possible to modify handling, conveying and storage technology in the hub to meet new requirements within days, and to have the complete hub up and running at an entirely new location within weeks..

Coaster – human-machine interface – ProductionPad

At the LogiMAT fair in 2014 we introduced the very first cost-effective human-machine interface with practical applications for Industry 4.0. Coaster not only controls automated guided vehicles like the cubeXX by STILL, it processes order picking tasks, and allows the driver to monitor and control individual production machines.

Cellular transport systems – collective intelligence for logistics

»“If objects know where to go, they can take the shortest route.« This simple yet revolutionary statement illustrates the idea of cellular transport systems as a logical consequence of the Internet of Things.

iDisplay – the electronic label

This mobile management system ensures a transparent exchange of data and information, and replaces time-consuming, conventional manual labelling systems. Clipped directly onto the patent-pending rack rail, it transmits its position to the merchandise management. Every subsequent change of position or removal is identified and displayed in the app.

InventAIRy – the flying inventory assistant

Sensor technology enables the system to autonomously observe and analyse its environment, and use this information to navigate a warehouse, to record logistical items and carry out inventories. The collected data is transmitted wirelessly to third-party systems (e.g. warehouse management systems), allowing the direct communication of selected contextual information.

SmARPro

Inadequate communication between control logic, machines and the users of production plants and logistics systems is one of the main problems facing modern networked manufacturing. Striving towards the vision of Industry 4.0, the SmARPro project (Smart Assistance for Humans in Production) aims to promote the standardized recording and processing of operational data using the SmARPro platform.

Smart Maintenance

Industry 4.0 will lead to a higher degree of networked systems, automation and technology. Efficient use of limited resources demands system stability and the optimal condition of the plant. However, there is a risk that industry will experience an acute shortage of skilled labour.

E3 Production Fraunhofer model project

E3 Production means: investigating synergy effects across all levels of the process, the process chain, factory and the factory environment, and translating these into solutions for practical applications. In addition to saving energy and resources this involves the development of solution concepts for carbon-neutral factories and rethinking the role that humans play in the manufacturing process.

DyCoNet – borderless networking of ULDs

Millions of tons of fresh food are distributed all over the globe by air freight every year, placing increasingly high demands on the logistical processes. In response to this, DyCoNet is testing the borderless networking of ULDs using universally accessible technologies such as GSM/UMTS and GPS, with the aim of establishing comprehensive availability of logistical data and autonomous material flow.

IoT-A Internet of Things architecture

A global network of intelligent devices and objects that communicate with each other and their environment – research into the Internet of Things is going on all around us. The IoT-A project has created an architectural reference model consisting of a series of key components that represents a move away from isolated solutions towards a common framework for the Internet of Things.

smaRTI - smart reusable transport items

Intelligent material flow - smaRTI aims to develop approaches that serve multiple industries and supply chains for intelligent material flow. Based on the concept of the Internet of Things, objects find their own routes through the logistics network.

Ergebnisse

Industrie 4.0 auf dem Weg in die Praxis

In zahlreichen Projekten arbeitet das Fraunhofer IML aktuell an Industrie 4.0-Lösungen. Um der Vision von einer ganzheitlichen Vernetzung immer näher zu kommen, entwickeln wir cyberphysische Systeme, dezentral und autonom organisierte Prozesse, Internet der Dinge-Technologien und zukunftsfähige IT-Lösungen. Hier hält die Digitalisierung Einzug in die Logistik und Industrie 4.0 nimmt Form an. Schauen Sie sich an, was heute schon möglich ist!

Ergebnisse#

inBin - Der intelligente Behälter

Der erste wirklich intelligente Behälter kommuniziert mit Menschen und Maschinen, trifft eigenständig Entscheidungen, überwacht seine Umgebungsbedingungen und steuert Logistikprozesse. Die Trennung von Güterinformationen und realen Gütern ist nun aufgehoben - und der Traum vom Internet der dinge wird wahr.

RackRacer - ein automatisches Shuttlelager ohne Lift

Das neue kletternde Shuttle bewegt sich selbstständig horizontal und diagonal im Regal – ohne Lift oder zusätzliche Schienen. Dabei helfen ihm so genannte Raupenelemente, die sich im Regal auf einzelnen Auflagepunkten abstützen. Die Shuttle sind somit in der Lage Ein-/Auslagervorgänge an jeder Position in einem Regal selbstständig durchzuführen.

Hub2Move - Hub der Zukunft

Das Projekt Hub2Move, ein Verbundprojekt des EffizienzCluster LogistikRuhr, folgt dem Leitbild eines beweglichen Lagers. Der Hub der Zukunft – ein umzugsfähiges Umschlagszentrum – soll sich daher einfach an veränderte Anforderungen anpassen lassen. Handhabungs-, Förder- und Lagertechnik im Hub sollen in wenigen Tagen an neue Anforderungen anpassbar sein, ein kompletter Hub auch an einem neuen Standort innerhalb weniger Wochen lauffähig werden.

Coaster - Mensch Maschine Schnittstelle - Production Pad

Mit dem »Coaster« haben wir auf der LogiMAT 2014 die erste industrietaugliche und gleichzeitig kostengünstige Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstelle für Industrie 4.0 vorgestellt. Neben der Steuerung von Flurförderzeugen, wie dem cubeXX von STILL, sowie der Abarbeitung von Kommissionieraufträgen, kann der Bediener mit dem »Bierdeckel« ganze Produktionsmaschinen ansteuern.

Zellulare Transportsysteme - Schwarmintelligenz für die Logistik

»Wenn die Dinge wissen wo sie hin sollen, können sie dort auf direktem Wege hingelangen.« Dieser einfache, aber revolutionäre Satz, verdeutlicht die Idee der Zellularen Transportsysteme als logische Konsequenz des »Internet der Dinge«.

iDisplay - das elektronische Etikett

Das mobile Managementsystem sorgt für einen transparenten Daten- und Informationsaustausch und löst manuelle – und daher aufwendige - Etikettenlösungen ab. Es wird direkt an eine zum Patent angemeldete Regalschiene angesteckt und übermittelt seine Position an das Warenwirtschaftssystem. Jede nachträgliche Positionsänderung oder Entfernung wird erkannt und an die App gemeldet sowie von dieser visualisiert.

InventAIRy - Identifikation mit autonomen Flugrobotern

Das System wird durch die verwendete Sensorik in die Lage versetzt, die Umgebung selbstständig wahrzunehmen und zu analysieren, um darauf basierend durch ein Lager zu navigieren, logistische Objekte zu erfassen und eine Inventur durchzuführen. Des Weiteren werden die gesammelten Informationen über intelligente Schnittstellen und Dienste an Drittsysteme (z.B. Warehouse-Management-Systeme) übertragen. Dies ermöglicht die unmittelbare Weitergabe ausgewählter kontextbezogener Informationen.

SmARPro

Der Mangel an Kommunikation zwischen Steuerungslogik, den Maschinen und den Bedienern von Produktionsanlagen und Logistiksystemen gehört zu einem der Hauptprobleme in der heutigen vernetzten Produktion. Das Projekt SmARPro (SmARt Assistance for Humans in Production) als Beitrag zum Zukunftsprojekt Industrie 4.0 schafft durch die Nutzung der SmARPro Plattform die Möglichkeit zur standardisierten Erfassung und Aufarbeitung von Betriebsdaten.

E3 - Produktion Fraunhofer Leitprojekt

E³-Produktion heißt: über eine ganzheitliche Betrachtung der Ebenen Prozess, Prozesskette, Fabrik und Fabrikumfeld Synergieeffekte untersuchen und in Lösungen für die Praxis überführen. Neben der Energie- und Ressourceneinsparung gehören hierzu insbesondere Lösungskonzepte für eine Emissionsneutrale Fabrik sowie eine Neubetrachtung der Einbindung des Menschen in die Fertigung.

DyCoNet - grenzenlose Vernetzung von Luftfrachtcontainern

Jährlich werden Tonnen frischer Lebensmittel per Luftfracht über den Globus verteilt. Das stellt immer höhere Anforderungen an logistische Prozesse. Darum testet DyCoNet die grenzenlose Vernetzung von Luftfrachtcontainern mittel überall erreichbarer Technologien wie GSM/GPS - Ziele sind eine umfassende Verfügbarkeit von Logsitikdaten und ein autonomer Materialfluss.

IoT-A Internet of things Architecture

Ein globales Netzwerk von intelligenten Geräten und Gegenständen, die untereinander und mit ihrer Umwelt kommunizieren – Forschung rund um das Internet der Dinge ist allgegenwärtig. Das Projekt IoT-A erstellt dafür ein architektonisches Rererenzmodell und legt eine Reihe an Schlüsselbausteinen fest, um weg von Insellösungen hin zu einem gemeinsamen Rahmen für das Internet der Dinge zu gelangen.

smaRTI - smart reusable transport items

Der intelligente Materialfluss - smaRTI zielt auf die Entwicklung eines branchen- und Supply-Chain-übergreifenden Ansatzes für einen intelligenten Materialfluss ab. Nach dem Konzept des „Internet der Dinge“ suchen sich die Objekte dabei selbst ihren Weg durch das logistische Netzwerk.